Mt. Pleasant Area Community Foundation

For good. For ever.

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life for all citizens of Isabella County, now and for generations to come, by attracting and holding permanent endowed funds from a wide range of donors, addressing needs through grant making and providing leadership on key community issues.

Myler Family Scholarship Fund

In February 2012, Bill and Jan Strickler began the Myler Family Scholarship Fund to provide scholarships to graduates of Sacred Heart Academy in honor of Bill and Dolores Myler. The Stricklers and the Mylers first met because of their common involvement in the oil and gas business, and they have become close business partners and personal friends over the years.

Bill and Dolores grew up in Muskegon where they both attended Catholic schools. After getting married in 1952, they moved to West Branch. In 1968, Bill and Dolores, along with their six children (Mary, Ellen, Bill, Jean, Jim, and Joel) moved to Mt. Pleasant. This move was precipitated by the fact the Mt. Pleasant had a K-12 Catholic school that their children could attend. All six of their children graduated from Sacred Heart Academy, and all 18 of their grandchildren have graduated or will graduate from a Catholic school.

This scholarship is given to honor Bill and Dolores and their commitment to the Catholic faith, to Catholic education, and to the Mt. Pleasant community.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Student must be a graduating senior at Sacred Heart Academy;

  • Student must have demonstrated outstanding academic ability with a minimum 3.0 GPA;

  • Student must have exhibited outstanding leadership and commitment to community through service;

  • Student must be planning to enroll at an accredited college, university or trade school; and

  • Student must be planning to pursue a science degree.


In selecting the most qualified applicant to receive the scholarship, reviewers should give preference to a student planning to pursue a degree in earth sciences (geology, mineralogy, petrology, geochemistry, geomorphology, paleontology, stratigraphy, structural geology, engineering geology, sedimentology, physical geography, geomorphology, oceanography, climatology, biogeography, geophysics, geodesy, soil science, hydrology, hydrogeology, glaciology, or atmospheric sciences).

2019 Scholarship Award: $3,000

Application Deadline: March 8, 2019